[[headline|Find Your Best Quote and Save $536]]
Whether you’re in the majority of drivers in North Dakota with car insurance or you need to join them, here’s what you need to know about auto insurance in your state.
North Dakota Car Insurance Requirements
Most states require auto insurance, including North Dakota. Here, drivers are required to keep bodily injury and property damage coverage, as well as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection. Specifically, you’ll need a policy that covers the following minimums, per state law:
- $25,000 per bodily injury, per accident
- $50,000 total for all bodily injuries per accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
- Uninsured/uninsured motorist liability coverage of up to $25,000 per person ($50,000 per accident)
- Personal injury protection of at least $30,000 per person
North Dakota has been a no-fault accident state since 1976. No-fault states are, generally speaking, states that require a driver’s car insurance company to pay out first for minor injuries in an accident, regardless of fault. So if you live in North Dakota and get in a wreck, your own auto insurance carrier will cover your minor injuries in an accident first.
The purpose of no-fault laws is to keep small auto accident claims out of the court system, which may lower the overall cost of car insurance premiums. Drivers can still sue for damages for more serious auto accidents, though. In North Dakota, there’s a monetary threshold for taking a case to court.
Auto Insurance Carriers in North Dakota
As of 2018, there were at least 40 carriers offering car insurance in North Dakota, with the top three carriers by market share being Progressive, State Farm and American Family. Here’s how those carriers ranked according to how much of the North Dakota auto insurance market they represented:
North Dakota Auto Insurance Stats & Figures
North Dakota was the second-least expensive state for auto insurance in 2019, with an average annual premium of $704. That’s according to data from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), which didn’t distinguish between minimum and full coverage when tallying up state averages.
- Minimum coverage: the minimum coverage that states require, which is typically just liability insurance (bodily injury and property damage)
- Full coverage: liability, comprehensive and collision insurance combined
More recently, Bankrate.com looked at 2022 auto insurance rates in North Dakota, separating them by full vs. minimum coverage. According to this data, the Roughrider State ranks #4 for least expensive minimum coverage and #11 for least expensive full coverage.
The average car insurance premium in North Dakota for minimum coverage is $285 for the year in 2022, while the average for full coverage is $1,264, a difference of nearly a thousand dollars.
And speaking of the kind of car insurance North Dakotans buy, over 79% of drivers here had comprehensive coverage as of 2018, according to the NAIC. Average annual premiums for the same time period were:
- $279.45 for collision insurance
- $256.65 for comprehensive coverage
- $307.97 for liability insurance
Remember that North Dakota only requires drivers to carry liability insurance, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection (PIP). You don’t have to get comprehensive or collision insurance in North Dakota – though it is a good idea.
North Dakota consistently ranks near the top for least expensive auto insurance premiums. In 2018, auto insurance here accounted for just over 1% of the annual median household income. By contrast, in Louisiana, the most expensive state for coverage in 2018, drivers there spent just over 3% of their household income on car insurance.
The state also ranks well in a couple of other important metrics, too.
In 2019, there were 100 motor vehicle deaths in North Dakota, a nearly 5% drop from the year before. That ranks it at #5 for least motor vehicle deaths in the country in 2019. And for car thefts, the state ranks #9 among states with the lowest rate of theft. There were 2,074 vehicles stolen in North Dakota in 2020. Compare that to the state with the highest number of car thefts, California, with over 168,000 vehicles stolen the same year.
Fast, Free Car Insurance Quotes Online
What else should I know about driving in North Dakota?
Some states use credit history when setting auto insurance rates. North Dakota is one of them. That said, credit history isn’t the only factor – or the deciding one, for that matter. By law, insurance companies in North Dakota are not allowed to use credit information alone to deny, cancel or not renew auto insurance policies.
They can, however, use credit information as part of an overall underwriting approach. So while your credit history won’t be the only factor auto insurers use to set your rates, it can play a role. Just how big of a role really depends on the insurer.
If you’re looking for ways to save money on car insurance in North Dakota, consider taking an approved premium reduction course through the North Dakota Highway Patrol. In general, you can also typically save money on auto insurance premiums by doing things like bundling insurance policies, using a bank draft for payments, insuring multiple vehicles and/or drivers, and choosing higher deductibles.
For teen drivers, North Dakota requires teens under the age of 16 to have a learners permit for at least 12 months before getting a license. If you’re 16 to 18 years old, you’ll need to have a permit for at least six months first. North Dakota also bans talking on cell phones while driving during the learners permit and intermediate phases of early licensure (these phases vary by state).
Most states also have some restrictions or added regulations regarding older drivers, with the designation of “older” being subjective and varying by state. In North Dakota, older drivers can no longer renew their licenses online or by mail starting at age 70. And starting at age 78, older drivers here need to renew their license every four years instead of every six.